#

进行跨国界贸易

进行跨国界贸易

《营商环境报告》记录了与进出口货物的物流过程相关的时间和成本。根据今年引入的新的方法论,《营商环境报告》衡量了与货物进出口总过程中的三组程序——单证合规、边界合规和国内运输——相关的时间和成本(不包括关税)。这些分数为与进出口的单证合规和边界合规程序相关的时间和成本的前沿距离分数之简单平均值。前沿距离分数决定了各经济体在跨国界贸易指标的排名.

尽管《营商环境报告》收集并公布国内运输相关时间和成本的数据,但在计算跨国界贸易方面的前沿距离分数或跨国界贸易便利度排名时并没有采用这些数据。这样做的主要原因是国内运输的时间和成本受许多外部因素的影响——比如经过地域的地理和地形、道路通行能力和一般性基础设施、与最近的港口或边界的靠近程度以及存放贸易货物的仓库的地点——因此并不会受到经济体贸易政策及改革的直接影响。此外,《营商环境报告》继续收集和公布有关国际贸易所需单证数量的数据,然而,与之前那些年不同的是,这些数据也没包括在对前沿距离分数和排名的计算中。与所需单证数量相比,单证合规的时间和成本能更好地衡量遵循对单证的要求所需的总体成本和复杂性。

有关跨国界贸易的数据是通过对当地货运转运商、报关行和贸易商的问卷调查收集的。通过几轮对调查对象的后续沟通以及聘用第三方和咨询公共来源,对问卷的答复进行了核实。通过电话会议和在所有经济体的现场走访,对问卷调查数据进行了确认。

如果经济体由于政府限制、武装冲突或自然灾害而没有发生正式的、大规模的、私营部门的跨国界贸易,则将被视为一个无实践经济体。“无实践经济体在所有跨国界贸易指标上的前沿距离分数均为0

案例研究假设

为使数据能在经济体之间进行比较,要对贸易货物和交易进行几个假设:

  • 对《营商环境报告》覆盖的190个经济体而言,假设货物是从出口经济体最大商业城市的仓库运到进口经济体最大商业城市的仓库。另外还对11个经济体在相同的案例研究假设下收集了第二大商业城市的数据(见表13A.1
  • 进出口案例研究假设了不同的贸易产品。假设每个经济体从其常规进口伙伴——进口汽车零部件金额(价格乘以数量)最大的那个经济体——进口一标准化船15吨用集装箱装运的汽车零部件(HS 8708)。假设每个经济体向其常规出口伙伴——购买比较优势的产品金额最大的经济体——出口其具有比较优势的产品(通过最大出口额来界定)。贵金属和宝石、矿物燃料、油类产品、活体动物、食品与产品残留及肥料,以及药物不包括在可能出口的产品清单里,然而,第二大类产品则被视为必要的。[1]
  • 一船货物为一个贸易单位。出口货物未必是集装箱装运的,而进口的汽车零部件则假设为集装箱装运的。

  • 假设基于重量计算的货运成本高于基于体积计算的货运成本。
  • 如果政府费用由货物价值决定,则假设价值为50,000美元。
  • 产品是新的,不是二手的或用过的商品。
  • 出口及进口公司雇用并支付货运转运商或报关行(或两者同时)并支付与国际货运、国内运输、海关和其他政府机构的通关和强制检查、港口或边界装卸、单证合规费等等相关的费用。
  • 运输方式为所选出口或进口产品及贸易伙伴最广泛使用的方式,海港、机场和陆上边境通道的亦是如此。
  • 政府机构要求通过电子方式提交的与货物有关的所有信息均视为出口或进口过程中获取、准备和提交的单证。
  • 对港口或边界的界定是商品进入或离开经济体的地方(海港、机场或陆上边境通道)。
  • 视为相关的政府机构包括海关、港务管理机构、道路警察、边防守卫、标准化机构、农业或工业部或部门、国家安全机构及任何其他政府机构。 

时间

时间以小时为单位,1天为24小时(例如,22天记为22×24=528小时)。如果通关花费了7.5小时,则数据就照此记录。但是,假如单证上早上8点提交到海关并连夜进行处理,第二天早上8点可以领取,那么在这种情况下通关的时间就被记录为24小时,因为实际过程花费了24小时。

成本

保险费用和不开收据的非正式付款均不包括在记录的成本内。成本以美元报告。问卷填写者被要求根据他们答复调查问卷当天的通行汇率将本国货币换算成美元。问卷填写者为国际贸易物流领域私营部门的专家并了解汇率及其变动。

单证合规

单证合规指标反映了满足来源经济体、目的地经济体以及任何过境经济体的所有政府机构对单证的要求所需的时间和成本(表13.13),其目的是衡量准备一系列单证的总负担,这些单证使得案例研究中所假设的产品和成对贸易伙伴之间的国际贸易得以完成。例如,货物从孟买运送到纽约,货运转运商必须准备并向印度海关、孟买港务管理机构以及纽约海关提交单证。

单证合规的时间和成本包括获得单证(比如进行检查以获得合格证或原产地证)、准备单证(比如收集信息以完成海关申报表和原产地证书所花的时间)、处理单证(比如等待相关机构在所有检查完成后发放植物检疫证书所花的时间)、呈阅单证(比如向道路警察出示海关申报表或向港务管理机构出示港口码头收据所花的时间)以及提交单证(比如当面或通过电子方式向海关机构提交海关申报表所花的时间)的时间和成本。

任何政府机构要求以电子或者书面方式提交的与货物相关的所有信息均被视为进出口过程中获得、准备和提交的单证。无论法律或实践中是否要求,货运转运商或报关行针对案例研究假设的产品和成对贸易伙伴准备的所有单证均包括在计算中。为获得优惠待遇而准备和提交的任何单证——例如原产地证明——也都纳入了单证合规的时间和成本计算中。因为感觉能方便货物通行而准备和提交的任何单证也纳入中(例如,货运转运商可能会准备一份装箱单因为在他们的经验里这会降低实物检查或其他突击性检查的可能性)。

此外,对进出口而言属于强制性的任何单证也包括在了时间和成本的计算中。然而,只需要一次性获取的单证就不包括在内。《营商环境报告》也不包括在国内市场进行生产和销售所需的文件——比如在国内销售玩具可能需要的第三方安全标准测试证明——除非有政府机构在出口过程中需要查看这些文件。

边界合规

边界合规指标衡量的时间和成本与遵守经济体的海关规定以及遵守为了让货物通过经济体边界而强制要求的其他检查相关的规定有关,另外还衡量了经济体港口或边界装卸的时间和成本。边界合规的时间和成本包括在港口或边界装卸以及报关报检过程中获取、准备和提交单证的时间和成本。例如,取得港口码头收据的时间和成本在此将被纳入。

边界合规时间和成本的计算取决于边界合规程序发生在哪里,是谁要求和由谁进行的以及进行检查的可能性多大。如果所有的报关报检都在港口或边界进行,对边界合规时间的估计会将这种同时性计入。边界合规的时间和成本可以忽略不计或者为零是完全可能的,在欧盟或其他关税同盟成员国之间进行贸易的情况下即是如此。

如果部分或全部的海关检查或其他检查是在别的地方进行的,那么这些检查的时间和成本将加到在港口或边界进行的检查的时间和成本上。以哈萨克斯坦为例,所有报关报检都在位于Almaty的海关检查站进行,而Almaty不是哈萨克斯坦和中国之间的陆上边界。在这种情况下,边界合规时间是在Almaty检查站花费的时间和边界装卸花费的时间之和。

《营商环境报告》要贡献者估计海关部门完成通关和检查的时间和成本,对通关和检查的界定是通过核实产品分类、确认数量、确定原产地和检查海关申报表中其他信息的真实性,进行以计算关税为目的的单证和实物检查。(这类检查包括所有旨在防止走私的检查。)这些就是多数情况下的通关和检查程序,因此被视为标准情况。时间和成本估计反映出经济体海关的效率。

《营商环境报告》还要求贡献者估计海关和所有其他政府机构完成对指定产品的通关与检查的总时间和总成本。这些估计说明了有关健康、安全、植物检疫标准、合格性等的检查情况,因此反映出要求并进行这些附加检查的机构的效率。

如果只有不到或刚好20%的情况会发生除海关之外其他机构的检查,则边界合规的时间和成本计算只计入海关的通关和检查(标准情况)。如果有超过20%的情况会发生其他机构的检查,则时间和成本计算会计入所有机构的通关和检查。不同类型的检查发生的概率不同是很有可能的——例如,单证检查在100%的情况下会发生,而实物检查在5%的情况下会发生。在这种情况下,《营商环境报告》仅会考虑扫描时间,因为超过20%的情况下,实物检查并不会发生。经济体的边界合规时间和成本不包括为满足其他经济体法规要求而花费的时间和成本

国内运输

国内运输指标反映的是与货物从经济体最大商业城市的仓库运到该经济体使用最广泛的海港、机场或陆上边境相关的时间和成本。对11个经济体还收集了第二大商业城市的数据(见表13A.1)。这一系列过程包括了实际运输、交通延迟和道路警察检查的时间,还有在仓库或边境装卸货物的时间。计入这个部分的时间包括在运输过程中获取、准备和提交单证花费的时间。

对于有海外贸易伙伴的沿海经济体来说,国内运输指标反映的是从在仓库装货到货物抵达该经济体港口的时间和成本(见图13.15)。对于通过陆上边界进行贸易的经济体,国内运输指标反映了从在仓库装货到货物抵达该经济体陆上边界的时间和成本(见图13.16)。时间和成本估计是基于问卷填写者报告的使用最广泛的运输方式(卡车、火车、船只)和使用最广泛的路径(道路、港口和边境口岸)做出的。绝大多数情况下所有问卷填写者对方式和路径的意见一致。在极少数其余情况下,《营商环境报告》咨询了更多的从业人士以了解为什么会存在不同意见。在这种情况下,时间和成本估计则基于大多数贡献者选择的方式和路径。对收集了第一和第二大商业城市数据的11个经济体,《营商环境报告》允许这两个城市在使用最广泛的方式和使用最广泛的路径上有所不同,只要私营部门的问卷填写者是这样报告的即可。例如,货物从德里运到蒙德拉出口是用火车,而货物从孟买运到那瓦舍瓦出口是用卡车。

如前所述,在出口案例研究中,《营商环境报告》并不假设用集装箱装运货物,时间和成本估计可能是基于对15吨没有用集装箱装运的货物的运输做出的。在进口案例研究中,汽车零部件被假设为用集装箱装运的,一批货物可能包括多于一个的集装箱。在货物是用集装箱装运的情况下,运输和其他程序的时间和成本是基于一批货物由属于一个国际商品统一分类和编码制度(HS)类别代码的同种货物构成的假设进行估计的。这个假设对于检查而言尤为重要,因为同种产品构成的货物往往比由属于不同HS代码的产品构成的货物受到的检查少,检查的时间也更短。

在某些情况下货物从仓库运送到海关检查站进行通关和检查,之后继续运往港口或边界。在这些情况下,国内运输的时间(成本)是这两段运输的时间之和。通关或检查的时间和成本计入边界合规指标的计算而不是国内运输指标的计算。

改革

跨国界贸易指标集记录了每年进口与出口货物物流过程相关时间和成本的变化。基于对数据的影响程度,一些被认为对数据产生重要影响的变化被列为改革,并在报告2015/16《营商环境报告》概述中列出。改革分为两种类型:一种是使企业做业务更容易的改变,另一种是使企业做生意更困难的改变。跨国界贸易指标使用标准化的判断标准来识别改革。

前沿距离得分总计的差值倍用于评估对数据变化的影响。任何导致数据的前沿距离得分差产生2%及以上变动的变化都被列为改革(更多有关相对距离差额的详细信息,请参阅前沿距离得分与营商便利程度排名章节)。例如,如果单一窗口制度的实施导致前沿距离得分产生了2%以上的变化,这一变化就被称之为改革。少量运费变动,及其他有关指标的变化,如果不能引起前沿距离得分相对差额2%以上变动,则不能被视为改革。然而,这些指标变动的影响也反应在更新的指标集中。

有关每个经济体跨国界贸易的数据详见 http://www.doingbusiness.org.

 

 



[1] 为了确定每个经济体的贸易伙伴和出口产品,《营商环境报告》从联合国商品贸易统计数据库(UN Comtrade)等国际数据库中采集了最近四年的贸易流量数据。对那些没有贸易流量数据的经济体,采用了来自辅助性政府来源(不同的部和部门)和世界银行集团国家代表处的数据来确定出口产品和贸易伙伴。

#

local_shippingTrading Across Borders Methodology

Doing Business records the time and cost associated with the logistical process of exporting and importing goods. Doing Business measures the time and cost (excluding tariffs) associated with three sets of procedures—documentary compliance, border compliance and domestic transport—within the overall process of exporting or importing a shipment of goods. Figure 1, using the example of Brazil (as exporter) and China (as importer), shows the process of exporting a shipment from a warehouse in the origin economy to a warehouse in an overseas trading partner through a port. Figure 2, using the example of Kenya (as exporter) and Uganda (as importer), shows the process of exporting a shipment from a warehouse in the origin economy to a warehouse in a regional trading partner through a land border. The ranking of economies on the ease of trading across borders is determined by sorting their distance to frontier scores for trading across borders. These scores are the simple average of the distance to frontier scores for the time and cost for documentary compliance and border compliance to export and import (Figure 3).

Figure 3 - Trading across borders: time and cost to export and import

Although Doing Business collects and publishes data on the time and cost for domestic transport, it does not use these data in calculating the distance to frontier score for trading across borders or the ranking on the ease of trading across borders. The main reason for this is that the time and cost for domestic transport are affected by many external factors—such as the geography and topography of the transit territory, road capacity and general infrastructure, proximity to the nearest port or border, and the location of warehouses where the traded goods are stored—and so are not directly influenced by an economy’s trade policies and reforms.

The data on trading across borders are gathered through a questionnaire administered to local freight forwarders, customs brokers, port authorities and traders. Questionnaire responses are verified through several rounds of follow-up communication with respondents as well as by contacting third parties and consulting public sources. The questionnaire data are confirmed through teleconference calls or on-site visits in most economies.

If an economy has no formal, large-scale, private sector cross-border trade taking place as a result of government restrictions, armed conflict or a natural disaster, it is considered a "no practice" economy. A "no practice" economy receives a distance to frontier score of 0 for all the trading across borders indicators.

Assumptions of the case study

To make the data comparable across economies, several assumptions are made about the traded goods and the transactions:

  • For each of the 190 economies covered by Doing Business, it is assumed that a shipment travels from a warehouse in the largest business city of the exporting economy to a warehouse in the largest business city of the importing economy. For 11 economies the data are also collected, under the same case study assumptions, for the second largest business city.
  • The import and export case studies assume different traded products. It is assumed that each economy imports a standardized shipment of 15 metric tons of containerized auto parts (HS 8708) from its natural import partner—the economy from which it imports the largest value (price times quantity) of auto parts. It is assumed that each economy exports the product of its comparative advantage (defined by the largest export value) to its natural export partner—the economy that is the largest purchaser of this product. Precious metal and gems, mineral fuels, oil products, live animals, residues and waste of foods and products as well as pharmaceuticals are excluded from the list of possible export products, however, and in these cases the second largest product category is considered as needed. (1)
  • A shipment is a unit of trade. Export shipments do not necessarily need to be containerized, while import shipments of auto parts are assumed to be containerized.
  • If government fees are determined by the value of the shipment, the value is assumed to be $50,000.
  • The product is new, not secondhand or used merchandise.
  • The exporting/importing firm hires and pays for a freight forwarder or customs broker (or both) and pays for all costs related to international shipping, domestic transport, clearance and mandatory inspections by customs and other government agencies, port or border handling, documentary compliance fees and the like.
  • The mode of transport is the one most widely used for the chosen export or import product and the trading partner, as is the seaport or land border crossing.
  • All electronic submissions of information requested by any government agency in connection with the shipment are considered to be documents obtained, prepared and submitted during the export or import process.
  • A port or border is defined as a place (seaport or land border crossing) where merchandise can enter or leave an economy.
  • Government agencies considered relevant are agencies such as customs, port authorities, road police, border guards, standardization agencies, ministries or departments of agriculture or industry, national security agencies, central banks and any other government authorities.

Time

Time is measured in hours, and 1 day is 24 hours (for example, 22 days are recorded as 22 × 24 = 528 hours). If customs clearance takes 7.5 hours, the data are recorded as is. Alternatively, suppose that documents are submitted to a customs agency at 8:00 a.m., are processed overnight and can be picked up at 8:00 a.m. the next day. In this case the time for customs clearance would be recorded as 24 hours because the actual procedure took 24 hours.

Cost

Insurance cost and informal payments for which no receipt is issued are excluded from the costs recorded. Costs are reported in U.S. dollars. Contributors are asked to convert local currency into U.S. dollars based on the exchange rate prevailing on the day they answer the questionnaire. Contributors are private sector experts in international trade logistics and are informed about exchange rates and their movements.

Documentary compliance

Documentary compliance captures the time and cost associated with compliance with the documentary requirements of all government agencies of the origin economy, the destination economy and any transit economies. The aim is to measure the total burden of preparing the bundle of documents that will enable completion of the international trade for the product and partner pair assumed in the case study. As a shipment moves from Mumbai to New York City, for example, the freight forwarder must prepare and submit documents to the customs agency in India, to the port authorities in Mumbai and to the customs agency in New York City.

The time and cost for documentary compliance include the time and cost for obtaining documents (such as time spent to get the document issued and stamped); preparing documents (such as time spent gathering information to complete the customs declaration or certificate of origin); processing documents (such as time spent waiting for the relevant authority to issue a phytosanitary certificate); presenting documents (such as time spent showing a port terminal receipt to port authorities); and submitting documents (such as time spent submitting a customs declaration to the customs agency in person or electronically).

All electronic or paper submissions of information requested by any government agency in connection with the shipment are considered to be documents obtained, prepared and submitted during the export or import process. All documents prepared by the freight forwarder or customs broker for the product and partner pair assumed in the case study are included regardless of whether they are required by law or in practice. Any documents prepared and submitted so as to get access to preferential treatment— for example, a certificate of origin—are included in the calculation of the time and cost for documentary compliance. Any documents prepared and submitted because of a perception that they ease the passage of the shipment are also included (for example, freight forwarders may prepare a packing list because in their experience this reduces the probability of physical or other intrusive inspections).

In addition, any documents that are mandatory for exporting or importing are included in the calculation of time and cost. Documents that need to be obtained only once are not counted, however. And Doing Business does not include documents needed to produce and sell in the domestic market—such as certificates of third-party safety standards testing that may be required to sell toys domestically—unless a government agency needs to see these documents during the export process.

Border compliance

Border compliance captures the time and cost associated with compliance with the economy’s customs regulations and with regulations relating to other inspections that are mandatory in order for the shipment to cross the economy’s border, as well as the time and cost for handling that takes place at its port or border. The time and cost for this segment include time and cost for customs clearance and inspection procedures conducted by other government agencies. For example, the time and cost for conducting a phytosanitary inspection would be included here.

The computation of border compliance time and cost depends on where the border compliance procedures take place, who requires and conducts the procedures and what is the probability that inspections will be conducted. If all customs clearance and other inspections take place at the port or border, the time estimate for border compliance takes this simultaneity into account. It is entirely possible that the border compliance time and cost could be negligible or zero, as in the case of trade between members of the European Union or other customs unions.

If some or all customs or other inspections take place at other locations, the time and cost for these procedures are added to the time and cost for those that take place at the port or border. In Kazakhstan, for example, all customs clearance and inspections take place at a customs post in Almaty that is not at the land border between Kazakhstan and China. In this case border compliance time is the sum of the time spent at the terminal in Almaty and the handling time at the border.

Doing Business asks contributors to estimate the time and cost for clearance and inspections by customs agencies— defined as documentary and physical inspections for the purpose of calculating duties by verifying product classification, confirming quantity, determining origin and checking the veracity of other information on the customs declaration. (This category includes all inspections aimed at preventing smuggling.) These are clearance and inspection procedures that take place in the majority of cases and thus are considered the "standard" case. The time and cost estimates capture the efficiency of the customs agency of the economy.

Doing Business also asks contributors to estimate the total time and cost for clearance and inspections by customs and all other government agencies for the specified product. These estimates account for inspections related to health, safety, phytosanitary standards, conformity and the like, and thus capture the efficiency of agencies that require and conduct these additional inspections.

If inspections by agencies other than customs are conducted in 20% or fewer cases, the border compliance time and cost measures take into account only clearance and inspections by customs (the standard case). If inspections by other agencies take place in more than 20% of cases, the time and cost measures account for clearance and inspections by all agencies. Different types of inspections may take place with different probabilities—for example, scanning may take place in 100% of cases while physical inspection occurs in 5% of cases. In situations like this, Doing Business would count the time only for scanning because it happens in more than 20% of cases while physical inspection does not. The border compliance time and cost for an economy do not include the time and cost for compliance with the regulations of any other economy.

Domestic transport

Domestic transport captures the time and cost associated with transporting the shipment from a warehouse in the largest business city of the economy to the most widely used seaport, airport or land border of the economy. For 11 economies the data are also collected for the second largest business city. This set of procedures captures the time for (and cost of) the actual transport; any traffic delays and road police checks; as well as time spent on loading or unloading at the warehouse or border. For a coastal economy with an overseas trading partner, domestic transport captures the time and cost from the loading of the shipment at the warehouse until the shipment reaches the economy’s port. For an economy trading through a land border, domestic transport captures the time and cost from the loading of the shipment at the warehouse until the shipment reaches the economy’s land border.

The time and cost estimates are based on the most widely used mode of transport (truck, train, riverboat) and the most widely used route (road, border posts) as reported by contributors. In the overwhelming majority of cases all contributors in an economy agree on the mode and route. In the few remaining cases Doing Business consulted additional contributors to get a sense of why there was disagreement. In these cases time and cost estimates are based on the mode and route chosen by the majority of contributors. For the 11 economies for which data are collected for both the largest and the second largest business city, Doing Business allows the most widely used route and the most widely used mode of transport to be different for the two cities. For example, shipments from Delhi are transported by train to Mundra port for export, while shipments from Mumbai travel by truck to Nhava Sheva port to be exported.

In the export case study, as noted, Doing Business does not assume a containerized shipment, and time and cost estimates may be based on the transport of 15 tons of noncontainerized products. In the import case study auto parts are assumed to be containerized. In the cases where cargo is containerized, the time and cost for transport and other procedures are based on a shipment consisting of homogeneous cargo belonging to a single Harmonized System (HS) classification code. This assumption is particularly important for inspections, because shipments of homogeneous products are often subject to fewer and shorter inspections than shipments of products belonging to various HS codes.

In some cases the shipment travels from the warehouse to a customs post or terminal for clearance or inspections and then travels onward to the port or border. In these cases the domestic transport time is the sum of the time for both transport segments. The time and cost for clearance or inspections are included in the measures for border compliance, however, not in those for domestic transport.

Reforms

The trading across borders indicator set records the time and cost associated with the logistical process of exporting and importing goods every year. Depending on the impact on the data, certain changes are classified as reforms and listed in the summaries of Doing Business reforms in 2015/16 section of the report in order to acknowledge the implementation of significant changes. Reforms are divided into two types: those that make it easier to do business and those that make it more difficult to do business. The trading across borders indicator uses a standard criterion to recognize a reform.

The aggregate gap on the overall distance to frontier of the indicator set is used to assess the impact of data changes. Any data update that leads to a change of 2 or more percentage points on the relative distance to frontier gap is classified as a reform (for more details on the relative gap, see the chapter on the distance to frontier and ease of doing business ranking). For example if the implementation of a single window system reduces time or cost in a way that the overall relative gap decreases by 2 percentage points or more, such change is classified as a reform. Minor shipping fee updates or other small changes on the indicators that have an aggregate impact of less than 2 percentage points on the relative gap are not classified as a reform, yet, but their impact is still reflected on the most updated indicators for this indicator set.

--------------------

1. To identify the trading partners and export product for each economy, Doing Business collected data on trade flows for the most recent four-year period from international databases such as the United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade). For economies for which trade flow data were not available, data from ancillary government sources (various ministries and departments) and World Bank Group country offices were used to identify the export product and natural trading partners.